Skip to content

3 Results

  • Driver Education Point of Impact Information Night

    Do you have a teenager that will soon finish their driver education class or has recently received their permit? Join us for a 2-hour parent course to learn more about driving laws and the process of licensure, as well as lessons to help YOU be the best driving mentor you can be.
  • Driver's Education | age 15+

    Are you ready to earn your driver's permit and learn to drive? Start by completing the 30 hours of classroom instruction required by the State of Minnesota in our interactive, engaging in-person or e-learning classrooms. Once you have your permit, schedule Behind-the-Wheel training from our State-licensed and certified instructors. Students must be 15 years old by the last day of classroom instruction. Students must have a Chromebook/laptop for the class. If you need to borrow a computer, please contact our office ASAP. WHY CHOOSE DRIVER'S EDUCATION THROUGH COMMUNITY EDUCATION? Knowledgeable instructors who are licensed teachers with years of experience and training. They know the most effective ways to teach students and will help meet the learning needs of individual students. Multiple locations, dates, and times that fit busy schedules. Flexible registration and payment plan. Please note: State law requires students be registered for Behind-the-Wheel before they can take the permit test. To be fully registered, full payment for Behind-the-Wheel must be received by the last classroom day. Take your permit test with us! ISD 728 Community Education has been approved as a Remote Web-based Knowledge Testing Site for the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles. As part of our Driver's Education package, you may take your Knowledge (permit) Test at Handke Center in Elk River. Just register with Community Education for your chosen date and time at no additional charge. (First test is included with your package price. If you need to retake the test, there is a $10 fee. You may take the test with us up to three times.) Supportive and educational parent class offered multiple times and locations throughout the year. Spanish-speaking instructor available for Behind-the-Wheel -- call our office for details. ** Drivers under age 18 who complete Behind-the-Wheel instruction and are testing for a provisional driver's license MUST SUBMIT A DRIVING LOG. The driving log must show that the teen has completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which are nighttime hours. If a parent attends a parent class, the required number of supervised driving hours decreases to 40, 15 of which are nighttime hours. ** PARENTS/GUARDIANS: A Chromebook/laptop is required for this course. Please contact the office if your student needs to borrow a computer. A few days before the start of class, you will receive an email with information for your student to set up access to the Schoology course. If your student is not an ISD 728 student, you will receive an email with the access code to join the Schoology course. Information will be sent home with your student or emailed regarding the Driving Log, the parent class, and Behind-the-Wheel scheduling. If planning to attend a free parent class, please register online or by contacting Community Education at (763) 241-3520. ONLINE CLASSES: All classroom materials will need to be picked up from Handke Center, located at 1170 Main Street, Elk River, NO EARLIER THAN 1 WEEK BEFORE THE START OF THE COURSE. Course material pick-up times are Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm. If these pick-up times do not work for you, please contact the Community Education office by calling 763-241-3520 or emailing communityed@isd728.org. FEE INFORMATION: When registering, you will be able to choose from the following fee options: Complete Training Package: $379; includes one Knowledge (Permit) Test fee Payment plan available: $179 due at registration; $200 due prior to last day of class Please note: If you choose the payment plan, the second payment of $200 will be charged to the credit/debit card number listed in your account the day before the last day of classroom training. Classroom instruction only: $130 due at time of registration Behind-the-Wheel training only: $280 due at time of registration; to register call 763-241-3520 Spanish-speaking instructor available for Behind-the-Wheel
  • Driver's License Knowledge Test | age 15+

    Take your permit test with us! ISD 728 Community Education has been approved as a Remote Web-based Knowledge Testing Site for the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles. Testing is held at one of our district schools. Requirements: You must have: completed your 30 hours of classroom instruction with ISD 728 Community Education. received your "blue card." turned age 15 by the testing date. the required identification with you on the testing date. registered through the Community Education registration system (see note below). Complete details are available from your classroom instructor. If you take and fail the test with us three times, you must take subsequent tests at a State testing site. PLEASE NOTE: Students registered for ISD 728 Community Education Driver's Education's full classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel packages that start after January 1, 2024, may take one Knowledge Test at no additional charge. The test fee is included in the cost of your package. If you took a class before January 1, 2024, or if you need to take the test a second time, please call our office at 763-241-3520 to register and pay the fee.